Unrealistic views on people. Because of Disney and media.

Do you want to know why people have unrealistic expectations for physical appearance? Because people like me who grew up on Disney movies saw only the so called “perfect” bodies. And lives that were filled with dreams come true, either after disobeying their parents or with the help of a fairy god mother. Pretty crazy I say. How would you feel if your kid, or when you’re older and possible have kids, if they deliberately disobeyed you and then expected you to say YOU were sorry and then expect you to give them all they wanted and more. And while you’re at it, throw in a prince or princess, and make sure its the most beautiful/handsome of them all. Believe me when I say that I am a huge fan of Disney, they are my favorite movies in fact. But it doesn’t do a person much good. they’re morals, or lack there of, are very off. I wish there could be a Disney princess or prince who had some acne, or a not so perfect complexion. Maybe tone down that sexy six pack because not every guy has one! And not every girl has a perfectly perfect looking chest. So not realistic. And now people have to go to counseling because they are depressed or harming themselves, either physically or verbally, and all because when we look in the mirror, then back at the media, we’re told we are imperfect and that that’s wrong. And that we need to be perfectly shaped to have a good life. Guess what? You don’t. It makes me so sad when i hear my beautiful friends talk down about themselves. I’m a hypocrite i suppose though, because I always tell myself i’ll never be good enough. But its okay to not be perfect!! Its a beautiful thing. And if you think negative about yourself, it shows. And people notice, trust me, they do.
So do yourself a favor, know that God believes your perfect. And he did create you, so I think he would know 😉

Psalm 139:13-14

For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
Look in the mirror and if there is a goal you want to set, like losing some weight, then go for it! But don’t be negative and harsh on yourself. Work toward your goal and with every day of progress congratulate yourself.
Well, that’s my rant for the night!! Have a good week all you bloggers 🙂

About kayms2013

I'm passionate about God, and hope to travel with a purpose of helping missionaries and possibly becoming one some day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unrealistic views on people. Because of Disney and media.

  1. meghancaprez says:

    Hey! I loved Disney growing up, too. The movies with messages you were looking for do exist, they’re just the less appreciated Disney movies. A Princess with acne? Look no further than Mia Thermopolis. A big-boned hero? How about Russell from Up or Pumba from The Lion King. A non-traditional female character? Terk from Tarzan. I do wish the lessons we learned from these characters were more universally recognized, though.

    • kayms2013 says:

      Those are awesome movies too! I forgot those were all Disney. Thanks!! There is hope yet in this world ;p
      I’m glad you are also a fan of Disney. I suppose there are just a lot of Disney movies I’ve seen with bad messages, but it’s important to remember the good ones too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

